Meet Giggles-fiv+
Animal ID 49550324 
Species Cat 
Breed Domestic Shorthair/Mix 
Age 8 years 10 months 24 days 
Gender Female 
Size Medium 
Color Black 
Spayed/Neutered  
Declawed No 
Housetrained Unknown 
Site Lakeland Animal Shelter 
Location Colony 
Intake Date 2/7/2022 
Hi. My name is Giggles and the vet thinks I might be around 8 years old. If you come to the shelter and ask "which is the cat that needs a home the most? The one no one else wants?"
They would point to me. My name is Giggles, but my life has not been funny or happy at all. I came to the shelter from a very bad situation. There were so many of us that the humans couldn't care for us all. When I got to the shelter they found out I was positive for FIV, which is Feline Immunodeficiency Virus. (Humans can't catch it or spread it to other animals. It's spread from cat to cat from breeding and biting, which sadly happened where I used to live. It may mean I have health complications down the road, but I could also have no symptoms of illness as well. They just don't know.) I was glad to leave my old place and have the comfort of the shelter. Here, I'm safe. The vet and shelter staff have treated my wounds. There's always enough food to go around. Everything is so clean and the cat litter is clean. I'm very grateful to have those things. Some of the cats I lived with are here with me in the Teal adoption room. I like other cats, in fact, I've shared a cubby with my friend, Emmy Lou for much of my time here. My ideal home would include one of my FIV positive cats with me. It would be quieter and have places I can hide to feel safe. I'm very shy so the people would need to be willing to work with me slowly. I've been at the shelter for many months, and only recently have I become confident enough to sleep out in the open- and will even sleep in the window when relaxed. I'm starting to like when people pet me, but get very nervous. Physically, my body has scars from my past life. And emotionally, I bear the scars of an insecure life. Please only adopt me if you promise to work with me slowly everyday and to keep me for the rest of my life.